Using AlertSite UXM > Alerts > Alert Recipients > Scheduling Recipient Blackouts

Scheduling Recipient Blackouts

A recipient blackout is a “do not disturb” period, during which availability alerts are not sent to this recipient. You can use blackouts to restrict alerting to specific times, for example, to alert different users at different times of the day (or days of the week).

Notes:

Example

Suppose you have 3 on-call teams:

  1. 8 AM - 5 PM on business days.
  2. 5 PM - 8 AM on business days.
  3. Weekends.

For team 1 members, blackouts should include weekends and the hours 5 PM - 8 AM.

For team 2 members, blackouts should include weekends and the hours 8 AM - 5 PM.

For team 3 members, blackouts should include business days.

Creating and Managing Recipient Blackouts

You can view and manage recipient blackouts in the Alert Recipients screen. To open it, select Alerts > Alert Recipients from the top menu.

Select a recipient in the list to view its blackouts in the calendar. The blackout hours are displayed in the time zone selected in your AlertSite preferences.

Recipient Blackouts calendar

To add a blackout

  1. Select a recipient in the list.
  2. In the Recipient Blackouts calendar, click Schedule Alert Blackout.
  3. Select the blackout type – one-time or recurring (repeating every week), and click Next.
  4. Specify the From and To date and time, and click Finish.

    Blackout time range

To edit a recurring blackout

Note: You can edit only recurring blackouts. To change a one-time blackout, you must delete and recreate it.

To delete a blackout

See Also

© 2016 SmartBear Software. All rights reserved.      Terms of Use · Privacy Policy